Governing Body Membership for the City Independent Schools

Independent Schools

City of London School

Alderman Robert Howard (Ex- Officio)	Ex officio (Acting Chairman of the Board of the CLSG)	(term subject to Chairmanship of CLSG) ¹
Deputy Philip Woodhouse (Ex- Officio)	Ex officio (Chairman of the Board of CLFS)	(term subject to Chairmanship of CLFS)
Alderman Vincent Keaveny	Alderman	1 year expiring July 2023
Alderman Tim Levene (Chair)	Alderman	4 years expiring July 2025
Deputy Keith Bottomley (Deputy Chair)	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2025
Florence Keelson-Anfu	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Shahnan Bakth	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Ian Seaton	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Deputy James Thomson	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Dominic Christian	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2024
Paul Madden	Co-Opted	4 years expiring July 2024
Rosie Gill	Co-Opted	4 years expiring July 2026
Andrew Jones	Co-Opted	4 years expiring July 2027
Lesley Cartmell	Co-Opted	4 years expiring July 2027 ²
David Woodgate	Co-Opted	4 Years expiring July 2025
Timi Dorgu	Co-Opted	4 Years expiring July 2025
John Owen	Co-Opted	4 Years expiring July 2027

¹ Acting Chairman of CLSG following the resignation of Deputy Ann Holmes with effect from 31 March 2023. ² Appointed 15 March 2023; four-year term may be extended to the end of the academic year in which term of office ends.

City of London School for Girls

Governor	Basis of Appointment	Current Term Ends
Deputy Philip	Ex officio (Chairman of the Board of the CLFS)	(term linked to Chairmanship of CLFS)
Woodhouse (Ex-Officio) Tim Levene (Ex-officio)	Ex officio (Chairman of the Board of the CLS)	(term linked to Chairmanship of CLS)
Alderman Robert Howard (Acting Chair) ³	Alderman	4 years expiring April 2025
Mark Bostock	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Jamel Banda	Commoner	2 years expiring July 2023
The Honourable Emily Sophia Wedgwood Benn	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Deputy Shravan Joshi	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2024
Anett Rideg	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Jaspreet Hodgson	Commoner	4 years, expiring July 2023
Dr Stephanie K Ellington	Co-Opted	4 years expiring July 2024
Elizabeth Phillips	Co-Opted	4 years expiring July 2024
Mark James	Co-Opted	4 years expiring June 2025
Del Cooke	Co-Opted	4 years expiring Sept 2025
Nana Owusu-Ansah	Co-Opted	4 years expiring July 2026
Tanya Seghatchian	Co-Opted	4 years, expiring July 2027
1 x Common Councillor Vacancy		VACANT

³ Acting Chair following the resignation of Deputy Ann Holmes with effect from 31 March 2023. Was previously Deputy Chair; Deputy Chair to be appointed at next Board of Governors' meeting (9 June 2023).

City of London Freemen's School

Governor	Basis of Appointment	Current Term Ends
Alderman Tim Levene (Ex-	Ex Officio (Chairman of the	(term subject to
Officio)	Board of CLS)	Chairmanship of CLS)
Alderman Robert Howard (Ex-	Ex Officio (Acting Chairman	(term subject to
Officio)	of the Board of CLSG)	Chairmanship of CLSG)
Alderman Christopher Makin	Alderman	2 years expiring July 2024
Deputy Philip Woodhouse (Chair)	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Graham Packham	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2024
Jamel Banda (Deputy Chair)	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
John Foley	Commoner	4 years expiring July 2026
Nicholas Goddard	Co-opted	1 year expiring July 2023
Andrew McMillan	Co-opted	4 years expiring July 2023
Cllr Chris Townsend	Co-opted	4 years expiring July 2023
Lady Gillian Yarrow	Co-opted	4 years expiring July 2023
Roy Anklesaria	Co-opted	3 years expiring July 2025
Clare Verga	Co-opted	3 years expiring July 2025

City Junior School

Composition: up to 11 Governors:

- 1. Two ex-officio (Chairs of CLS and CLSG)
- 2. Up to five City Councillors/Aldermen:
 - a. Up to two CLS governors who are CCs/Aldermen
 - b. Up to three CLSG governors who are CCs/Aldermen⁴
- 3. Up to 2 co-opted non-City Councillors/Aldermen
 - a. One from CLS
 - b. One from CLSG
- 4. Up to three additional members with experience relevant to the Board

Governor	Basis of Appointment	Current Term Ends
Alderman Robert Howard (Chair)	1	Term subject to Chair of CLSG
Tim Levene	1	Term subject to Chair of CLS
Deputy Keith Bottomley	2a	Term expires 31 July 2026
Deputy James Thomson	2a	Term expires 31 July 2026
Anett Rideg	2b	Term expires 31 July 2027
Deputy Shravan Joshi	2b	Term expires 31 July 2026
Rosie Gill	3a	Term expires 31 July 2026
Mark James (Deputy Chair)	3b	Term expires 31 July 2026
Elizabeth Phillips	4	Term expires 31 July 2026
Catherine Gibaud KC	4	Term expires 31 July 2026
Her Honour Judge Anuja Dhir	4	Term expires 31 July 2027

⁴ Terms of Reference temporarily amended by the Boards of Governors of the City of London School and the City of London School for Girls at their respective meetings on 15 March 2023 and 6 March 2023 to permit continuity of appointments following the resignation of Deputy Ann Holmes as Chair of the Board of Governors of CLSG with effect from 31 March 2023. A new Chair will be appointed at the Boards of Governors meetings of CLS/CLSG in June 2023.